Flashback: Nippertown’s Top 10 Albums of 2006

Before we announce our selections of the Top 10 locally produced albums of 2009 on Thursday, we’ll be taking a glance back at a few earlier years of the decade each day this week.

The Best Capital Region Albums of 2006

Kamikaze Hearts: Oneida Road
Kamikaze Hearts: Oneida Road
Kamikaze Hearts’ “Oneida Road” (Collar City): It was a long time comin’, but the KHearts’ new one has been stuck inside my CD player ever since. The alt-country-folk quintet has created a bonafide masterpiece full of history, mystery and more than a few unexpected twists. Let’s hope that this is a big hit overseas when One Little Indian releases it in March. Not just the best local CD of the year, but one of the best local albums ever.

Jim Sande’s “Particle” (Labile Music): The second solo CD from the leader of the Jim Sande Ensemble delivers five delicious, sonically diverse suites of adventurous yet accessible music.

Mallory O’Donnell’s “Joy” (KBW Music): At just 17 years old, the Greenwich singer offered a surprisingly soulful and sophisticated debut that spans pop, jazz, rock and more.

The Gazetteers’ “Landlocked” (Salt in Wound Recordings): On the follow-up to “Territory Songs,” Frank Boscoe and company offer a rich, thoroughly charming and lovingly packaged indie disc full of whimsy, depth and geography.

The Tom Healey Band’s “Tough Dog” (no label): A crackling all-original sophomore effort from the Capital Region’s premiere blues band.

Rory Block: The Lady & Mr. Johnson
Rory Block: The Lady & Mr. Johnson
Rory Block’s “The Lady & Mr. Johnson” (Rykodisc): A sensational acoustic blues tribute to Robert Johnson, spiked with Block’s biting slide guitar work.

Albert Cummings’ “Working Man” (Blind Pig): On his second disc for the San Francisco-based label, Williamstown’s premiere guitarslinger mixes in his country roots with his usual stingifying blues.

Laura Boggs’ “Whiskey & Springtime” (The Rev): Timeless, haunting acoustic singer-songwriter stuff that stretches beyond the folk realm.

Craig Vance’s “The Hills of Glencoe” (Blue Line): Sparkling acoustic guitar flatpicking by the masterful Vance, accompanied by some friends and his McKrells bandmates.

Guiltless Cult’s “Help Me Out” (no label): Terry McClain and his combo pack a tacklebox’s worth of hooks into their smart, power-pop debut.

Listen to Greg Haymes hosting the Nippertown 2009 Local 518 Top 10 Countdown and playing selections from the Top 10 albums on WEXT (Exit 97.7 FM) at 6pm Friday, New Year’s Day.

Comments are closed.