Nippertown Recording Studio News

TEN YEAR VAMP: The Kickstarter project for singer Debbie Gabrione and her bandmates has been 100 percent funded, but you can still get in on the action through Tuesday, May 17. The funds will go toward the recording of a new five-song CD, featuring three brand new songs, a hard rockin’ tune that didn’t make the cut on their last album and a new, updated recording of the 10YV fan favorite, “Don’t Be Alone With Me.” The tracks will be produced by Andy Foster with help from Rich Liegey. Here’s what the band’s number one fan Brenda has to say about it:

BEAR GRASS: “In the Light” is the debut CD from Bear Grass (aka Katie Hammon), who is also the co-leader of Slender Shoulders. For her solo debut, Bear Grass was joined by a number of special guests in the studio, including Matthew Loiacono, Nick Matulis, Frank Moscowitz, Dan Pardee and Christina Corrado. Apparently not superstitious in the slightest, she is throwing her CD release party at Valentine’s Music Hall in Albany at 6pm on Friday, May 13. Sharing the stage with her will be Matthew Carefully and Ashley Pond. Admission is $5.

COUNCIL FIRE: Co-led by Rob Beaulieu (of Raisinhead) and Todd Hanhurst (of the Refrigerators), Council Fire recorded their debut self-titled album at Cathedral Sound Studios in Rensselaer with Pat Tessitore and Ace Parkhurst handling the engineering chores, while Parkhurst and Beaulieu co-produced. Beaulieu decribes the band’s sound: “It’s a U2 meets the Band/Grateful Dead kind of thing.” Council Fire – which also features saxophonist-vocalist Sue Bellins, bassist-vocalist Mike Cassels, keyboardist-vocalist Drew Costa, drummer Jeff Prescott and guitarist Dave Spadaro – will celebrate the new album with a CD release party at Jillian’s in Albany at 8pm on Saturday. Opening the show will by the McLovins. Tix are $10.

THE ROB JONAS BAND: “Another Lonely Road” is the new nine-song album recorded at Collar City Sound in Troy with engineer Frank Moscowitz, who previously worked on Jonas’ 2009 album, “Take Me Anywhere.” It’s Jonas’ third album, but the first with his current full band line-up featuring guitarist JV Abbey, bassist Mike Guzzo and drummer Mark Adamo. The Rob Jonas Band celebrates “Another Lonely Road,” with a CD release party at Caffe Lena in Saratoga Springs at 7pm on Sunday. Tix are $10 in advance; $12 at the door.

YUKO KISHIMOTO: The jazz composer-pianist’s Kickstarter album project was 100 percent funded with more than two weeks still left in the fund-drive. (You can still get in on the incentives if you pledge by Sunday, May 22). She plans on recording eight original tunes at Cotton Hill Studios in Albany, with Ray Retting and Sten Isachsen at the helm. The album will feature Kishimoto on a couple of solo piano works, as well as several tracks recorded in quartet format with saxophonist Lee Russo, drummer Conor Meehan and bassists Mike Lawrence and Lou Smaldone.

Comments are closed.