International Bluegrass Music Association Award Winners Announced

After a two-year run as the reigning International Bluegrass Music Association’s Entertainers of the Year, Nippertown’s own Gibson Brothers were dethroned last week at the IBMA Awards ceremony in Raleigh, North Carolina.

Leigh & Eric Gibson and their band – who were nominated again this year for Entertainers of the Year and Vocal Group of the Year – walked away from the awards show empty handed, losing in both categories to North Carolina’s Balsam Range, whose singer Buddy Melton was also named Male Vocalist of the Year.

Other winners at the awards show include:

Instrumental Group of the YearFrank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen, who played Caffe Lena last month.

Song of the Year – “Dear Sister” by Claire Lynch, who played both FreshGrass and the American Music Festival for the Lake last month. Lynch also won honors for Recorded Event of the Year for “Wild Montana Skies” with Special Consensus and Rob Ickes.

Album of the Year – “Noam Pikelny Plays Kenny Baker Plays Bill Monroe” by Noam Pikelny, who plays the Colonial Theatre in Pittsfield with Stuart Duncan on Thursday, October 16. Pikelny also won honors as Banjo Player of the Year.

Instrumental Recorded Performance of the Year – “Thank God I’m a Country Boy” by Special Consensus with Buddy Spicher, Michael Cleveland and Alison Brown, the latter two who played at FreshGrass last month.

Fiddler of the YearJason Carter of the Del McCoury Band, who played at Club Helsinki in August.

Woodstock veteran banjo player Bill Keith was also honored with a Distinguished Achievement Award.

GO HERE for a complete list of winners…

Comments are closed.