FEBRUARY 19: The Daily Flashback

1878: Thomas Alva Edison patented the phonograph.
1881: Kansas became the first state to prohibit all alcoholic beverages.
1949: John Lee Hooker’s “Boogie Chillen” hit No. 1 on the R&B chart.
1956: The Five Satins recorded “In the Still of the Night” in the basement of Saint Bernadette Church in New Haven.
1958: Carl Perkins left Sun Records to sign with the Columbia label as their first rockabilly artist.
1964: Simon & Garfunkel completed the recording of their original acoustic version of “Sounds of Silence.”
1966: Lou Christie’s “Lightnin’ Strikes” hit No. 1 on the charts.
1974: Dick Clark’s “American Music Awards” premiered on ABC-TV with hosts Smokey Robinson, Helen Reddy and Roger Miller.
1977: Manfred Mann’s Earth Band’s cover of Bruce Springsteen’s “Blinded by the Light” hit No. 1 in the US, the only Springsteen song ever to top the chart.

1981: Phil Collins’ debut solo album, Face Value, was released.
1985: Cherry Coke was introduced by the Coca-Cola Company.
1986: The Soviet Union launched the Mir space station.
1995: Tommy Lee and Pamela Anderson were married.
1997: Miles Davis received a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.
2002: Ten months after his death, Joey Ramone’s only solo album, Don’t Worry About Me, was released.
2008: Jagjaguwar Records released Bon Iver’s debut album, For Emma, Forever Ago.

1917: Carson McCullers
1924: Lee Marvin
1940: Smokey Robinson
1943: Lou Christie
1948: Tony Iommi
1952: Amy Tan
1955: Jeff Daniels
1956: Peter Holsapple
1957: Falco
1963: Seal

1980: Bon Scott
1998: Grandpa Jones
2001: Charles Trenet
2003: Johnny Paycheck
2008: Teo Macero
2017: Larry Coryell

Comments are closed.