It’s Local 518 Thanksgiving on WEXT! November 25th

It’s Local 518 Thursday! Click on the artist/band and song featured on the WEXT Radio Local 518 Show to find out more about them, and support by listening to & purchasing the songs. Miss the show? Listen to it and previous ones at the WEXT Radio Local 518 Show webpage. Have music you want us to hear? Submission guidelines can be found at the webpage link too. Send us stuff! A version of the following is posted on the Local 518 Facebook page.
Tonight at 11:00pm on WEXT Radio, the Local 518 Show playlist features…

Sean Rowe – “To Make It Real
Eastbound Jesus – “Roll Back Down
sun is poison – “conduits
not an Airplane – “Too Glad, People
Brule County Bad Boys – “Still Nothing
Normanskillers – “Make Do

The Attic Classic: BADGE coined the phrase “North Country Rock” to describe their blend of country and rock. They played their first show in 1974, and were a staple on the local music scene for a decade before parting ways. During that time, they recorded some of their original tunes, but it took until a band reunion in 2014 for them to collect the recordings and make them available on a CD compilation.

The compilation, titled ‘Playing in the Band: 1974-1984‘ featured 10 songs recorded between 1979 and 1983, mainly at Specialized Audio in Ballston Spa. One recorded at MCE Studio in Schenectady ended up on producer Mark Ernst’s ambitious three LP set ‘American Underground’ in 1983.

The Attic Classic comes from a pair recorded at Arabellum Studio in Albany in 1979, released the following year as a 45 single. BADGE‘s “To Be With You” got some airplay on country radio, and you could find it on jukeboxes in bars and clubs around the area.

Tune in WEXT Radio at 97.7 and 106.1 FM, at 89.1’s HD2 station, via online website stream at, or by using the free app for iOS and Android devices.

The live video of the Attic Classic song was recorded at The Skyway in Scotia, NY in 1981. The club was a converted bowling alley, now known as Skyway Plaza with several businesses. The band line up was Al Lemery – guitar/vox, Rick Morse – pedal/vox (d. 2016), Jim Dimenno – lead guitar/vox, Jim Barber – bass/vox (d. 2016), and Bob Ringrose – drums/vox.

Comments are closed.